If the account administrator has activated the override, each survey owner will be able to set specific data retention rules for their surveys. These will apply only to that particular survey, also when it is ‘Live’.
The data will be removed permanently during a nightly process and cannot be restored.
In order to set the data retention rules for a particular survey go to that survey and click on Settings > Options
Tick the box next to Data Retention. If it is already ticked, this means the account administrator has set data retention rules on account level as well. Untick this box to completely deactivate the data retention rules for this survey.
Once ticked, the following options will appear:
Schedule the nightly removal of contacts added to this survey after a certain number of days (minimum 30 and maximum 3650). Their responses will remain as anonymous and you will lose access to any metadata in the survey, such as custom fields. Note: Data retention rules do not affect your contact lists. You must clean up your contact lists separately.
If you only want to purge respondents, and no contacts, you can leave this field empty.
Schedule the nightly removal of respondents that answered to this survey more than a certain number of days ago (minimum 30 and maximum 3650). This will delete both the responses to the survey as well as any contacts that are associated with these responses.
If you only want to purge contacts, and no respondents, you can leave this field empty.